Introduction

Being diagnosed with depression in February of this year was a real shock.

Yes I had gone through a bad break-up in December 2013, but the rest of my life is pretty good. I’ve got a wonderful family and great friends, I’m attending my dream college, and I don’t have any financial worries. When my diagnosis was confirmed, I sat there and asked myself, what have I got to be depressed about?

But the more I learned about this illness, the more I realized how indiscriminate it is, and it can creep up on anyone, at anytime, with no rhyme or reason.

I started therapy about six weeks ago, and one of my therapist’s suggestions was blogging about my depression, and the journey I’ll be taking. She said even if no-one reads it, it’s a way to get my feelings out, and also a great tool for me to be able to look back and see I’m making progress (well I hope so).

I’ve only just started the blog now, as it’s taken me a few weeks to be able to feel ready to tell all my family and friends, but now I have I’m happy to start this blog and share my journey with them.

On top of that, if anyone happens to come across this blog by chance, you are more than welcome to stick around if you so wish. And if anyone else is out there reading this, who is also battling depression, I would love to hear from you.

That’s it I think, not much to say really, other than this is one more step I’ve taken.

Hurrah!

NB: This blog won’t JUST be about depression, I’ll be rambling on about other stuff too I’m sure!

